Watch: Dishonesty with DK? Why given run-out despite Bangladesh bowler uprooting stumps with hand

Dinesh Karthik

Team India’s wicket-keeper batsman Dinesh Karthik aka DK was controversially run out against Bangladesh in the T20 World Cup 2022 in Adelaide. The veteran wicketkeeper-batsman was declared out. However, doubts came to the fore whether seamer Shorful Islam had run out DK not with the ball but by blowing the bails with his hand.

Dinesh Karthik Runout create Controversy

At the main point of the run-out attempt, Shorful completely lost control of the ball. It looked like he had hit the stumps and not the ball. Dinesh Karthik dives while trying to reach the crease at the other end but, by then his work is done.

The runout was suspected, so the television umpire tried to clear the doubts raised through replays. The matter was close enough that Shoreful seemed to have pulled the bails from the stumps with only his own hands. The ball was not in his hands. Fans were not happy with Dinesh Karthik being given out and expressed their anger by tweeting-

One user wrote, ‘Clear not out was Dinesh Karthik, the bails did not come out due to the ball, but the pressure of the hand was lying on it.’ Another user wrote, ‘The third umpire has given the third class decision. The ball hit the stumps but the bails fell through the hands. At the same time, other users are also commenting on this controversial runout.

Also read: Watch: Virat Kohli Guides KL Rahul During Net Session In Adelaide Amidst Latter’s Struggling Form

Team India won the match

On the other hand, if we talk about the match, then in this rain-affected match, Team India defeated Bangladesh by 5 runs on the basis of Duckworth-Lewis rule. Virat Kohli was adjudged man of the match for his innings of 64 runs.

Leave a Comment

Scroll to Top