Pakistan’s Team Announced For Asia Cup 2023, These Players Got A Chance


The Asia Cup-2023 is to be played this year in the hosting of Pakistan and Sri Lanka. This time this tournament will be organized in the ODI format. Earlier the hosting of this tournament was entirely handed over to Pakistan, but due to India’s objection, matches will be organized in Sri Lanka as well. Meanwhile, the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) announced the team for the Asia Cup on Wednesday.

17 players got places:


The Pakistan Cricket Board on Wednesday announced a 17-member strong squad for the Asia Cup. Apart from this, an 18-member team was also announced for the upcoming ODI series against Afghanistan. The Asia Cup will be played after the conclusion of the ODI series against Afghanistan. The three-match series against Afghanistan is to be played from 22 to 26 August. After this, the Pakistani team will start its Asia Cup campaign against Nepal on 30 August in Multan.

Place this player only for AFG Series:

For the Afghanistan series, Saud Shakeel is the only player who has been kept out of the Asia Cup. Tayyab Tahir and Faheem Ashraf have also been included in the team. Shan Masood and Ihsanullah are the 2 players of the team who played 5 ODIs with New Zealand in April and May. Faheem returned to the team after two years and has increased the balance of the team as a fast bowler all-rounder. His last match in this format was against England in July 2021.

Opportunity for century scorer in Emerging Asia Cup:

Tayyab got a second chance in the ODI team. The right-handed middle-order batsman recently scored a brilliant century during Pakistan Shaheen’s 128-run win over India A in the ACC Emerging Cup final. Saud, who is not included in the Asia Cup squad, has played five ODIs and his last match was in March 2022 which was played against Australia.

Pakistan Team:


Abdullah Shafiq, Fakhar Zaman, Imam-ul-Haq, Babar Azam (c), Salman Ali Agha, Iftikhar Ahmed, Tyeb Tahir, Saud Shakeel (for Afghanistan series only), Mohammad Rizwan, Mohammad Haris, Shadab Khan (vice-capt), Mohammad Nawaz, Usama Mir, Faheem Ashraf, Haris Rauf, Mohammad Wasim Jr., Naseem Shah, and Shaheen Afridi.

Also Read:

IND vs WI: This Player’s Career Will End Under The Captaincy Of Hardik Pandya! Know The Reason

Leave a Comment

Scroll to Top