Watch: Out or Not out! Pathum Nissanka given out despite no spike on ball tracking system

Asia Cup 2022 has started but this start was not good for Sri Lanka at all. In the first match against Afghanistan, Dasun Shanaka’s team could only score 105 runs. Afghanistan captain Mohammad Nabi won the toss and decided to bowl first and the bowlers proved their captain’s decision absolutely right.

Third umpire’s controverial DRS decision

However, a controversial decision was also seen in the second over of this match. Pathum Nisanka’s dismissal became a matter of great discussion. Nisanka was caught out by the on-field umpire off Naveen-ul-Haq but the Sri Lankan batsman decided to review the decision. After this the TV umpire saw the replays and it was seen in the replays that there was absolutely no spike at the ultra-edge.

The incident happened on the last ball of the second over when the third umpire gave Nisanka out without any proper proof. However, this also happened because the on-field umpire had already given the Sri Lankan opener out and the third umpire could not find any conclusive evidence which led to him giving out.

This decision of the umpire is being criticized a lot and many believe that Nisanka was not out. In such a situation, you guys also watch the video and decide whether Nisanka was out or not. At the same time, talking about this match, Sri Lanka’s strong batting succumbed to Afghanistan and could score only 105 runs.

Leave a Comment

Scroll to Top