Watch: West Indies players were celebrating sadly, then the Umpire doubled the sorrow

Westindies out from world cup

Two-time T20 World Cup champion West Indies’ journey from the ongoing World Cup in Australia is over. West Indies suffered a disappointing exit from the tournament after a 9-wicket loss to Ireland in their last Round 1 match in Hobart. A heartbreaking moment for West Indies came during the 12th over bowled by all-rounder Odion Smith during the match.

Odion Smith missed the ball from playing, his bat hit the outer edge and the ball remained in the air for a long time. Odeon Smith took a simple catch in the followthrough. However, it was a disappointment for him and the team when replays showed Odeon Smith had overstepped. The batsman was relieved and West Indies were heartbroken.

2 times Champions West Indies eliminated

The incident on the fourth ball of the over caused a lot of grief to the West Indies players. One, he was not getting the wicket anyway and even when the wicket was found, Odeon Smith’s ball was declared a no ball when the third umpire saw it in the replays. However, the fall or non-fall of this wicket hardly has any effect on the outcome of the match.

Because, almost by then the West Indies team had already lost this match. On the other hand, if we talk about the match, the West Indies team won the toss and decided to bat first. West Indies scored 146 runs for the loss of 5 wickets in the allotted 20 overs. In reply, Ireland chased it down in 17.3 overs.

Leave a Comment

Scroll to Top